Skip to main content

Let's celebrate your excellence in improvement and quality at the NHS Wales Awards 2024

The Awards are back with 12 new categories to showcase improvement work across health and care in Wales.

This year promises to be even more inspiring as we have expanded the number of categories to further shine a spotlight on the incredible improvement work taking place across Wales. The awards are open to everyone working across NHS Wales including clinical and non-clinical staff and students.

National Director of NHS Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, Prof John Boulton said, “The awards this year have had a little bit of a makeover and our judging panel is excited to see the types of projects entered. It’s important to showcase the talent we have across the NHS in Wales, and this is a great platform to do so. It’s been an honour to have been involved for so many years and I wish you all the best of luck”.

Why apply...?

Entering this year’s NHS Wales Awards is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate your quality and safety improvement work that has transformed experiences and outcomes for people living in Wales. Whatever the change, big or small, the awards are a great way to recognise and showcase you, your team, and your hard work.

New categories for 2024!

The NHS Wales Awards 2024 comprises of 12 brand new categories, aligned with the Duty of Quality and Health and Care Quality Standards 2023.

New categories include the Ministers Award for Excellence in Improvement and Quality, selected from the 12 winners and an award voted for by peers within NHS Wales.

  1. NHS Wales Safe Care Award
  2. NHS Wales Timely Care Award
  3. NHS Wales Effective Care Award
  4. NHS Wales Efficient Care Award
  5. NHS Wales Equitable Care Award
  6. NHS Wales Person-Centred Care Award (The winner will be chosen from the judges' shortlist and voted for by peers within NHS Wales).
  7. NHS Wales Leadership Award
  8. NHS Wales Workforce Sustainability Award
  9. NHS Wales Team Culture Award
  10. NHS Wales Information Award
  11. NHS Wales Learning & Research Award
  12. NHS Wales Whole Systems Approach Award
  1. The Ministers Award for Excellence in Improvement and Quality (The winner will be chosen from the 12 category winners).

Enter today and you could you be a winner…!

Before you begin the submission process, please read the Entry Guide which contains essential information to support your application.

Entering is simple, head on over to the awards application platform to complete your submission. Remember to ask your Executive Director for the appropriate authorisation before entering. 


Entries close 5:00pm, Friday 3 May 2024 and all finalists will be notified at the end of May.

Winners will be announced later this year at the NHS Wales Awards 2024 ceremony.

Contact us

Get in touch. For contact details of our programme leads, see our Meet the Team page.

Sign up to our newsletter

Stay up to date with our ongoing work

Improvement Cymru YouTube channel

Our latest interviews, explainers, and masterclasses.

Read our latest blog

Blogs from our team and partners on the latest improvement work in Wales.