Skip to main content

Safeguarding Maturity Matrix

Safeguarding Maturity Matrix


The Safeguarding Maturity Matrix aims to provide assurance, share practice and drive improvements towards a ‘Once for Wales’ consistent approach to safeguarding across Wales.

The Safeguarding Maturity Matrix (SMM) consists of the following five standards, each with several example indicators to assist organisations in establishing their self-assessment score.

  1. Governance and a Rights Based Approach
  2. Safe Care
  3. ACE Informed
  4. Learning Culture
  5. Multi Agency Partnership Working

The organisational Improvement Plans and self-assessment scores are submitted to the National Safeguarding Team (NHS Wales) to inform the national picture through the NHS Wales Safeguarding Network to the Chief Nursing Officer in Welsh Government.

An annual Peer Review Process has been used to identify and share examples of good practice and to collaborate for improvement.


Download   Safeguarding Maturity Matrix
Download   Safeguarding Maturity Matrix Infographic